My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

A ‘Green’ Elephant Exchange


Trade in your White Elephant for a Green one, and you might end up with more presents.  The more creative you can shop, the easier it may be on your budget.  Having a Green Christmas will allow you to expand your shopping list to include those who were one step away from  the “Christmas Card Only” list this year!

One fun way I have found to cut my budget and still buy amazing gifts is to shop locally.  Shopping locally is not only an awesome way to boost the economy, but also you can find some really cool stuff!  Think about where you live, and all the great things it has to offer, that you can’t find anywhere else. This will only be hard for you if you have never left your hometown for more than a week.  If you have ever gone on vacation, away to college, or on a missions trip….you know exactly what your ‘neck of the woods’ has, that the rest of the world quite frankly is missing out on!

So you are sitting there  reading this, and saying to your couch companion, “I like the idea of shopping locally, but we live in Idaho.  And well, let’s be honest, nobody wants potatoes for Christmas.”   You are absolutely right.  Do not buy your family potatoes for Christmas and tell them you read it on my blog about how it was a great new way to celebrate the holidays.  Instead, consider the following:

1. Books/Artwork by local Authors/ Artists

2. Tickets to a Play at a Local Theatre

3. Tickets to a local Sports Event

4. “Downtown” Storefront Shopping (often local business owners or artisans)

5.  Farmers Market or City Market– many times will feature items made from local grown ingredients or handmade by local craftsman

I could go on a rant here about all the places I have ever lived and the wonderful things one could package up and gift me from there, including but not limited to Pepperoni Rolls & Roadside Roasted Chickens (West Virginia), Oishi Green Tea & Red Bull you have to mix yourself (Thailand), Shabu Fondue (Phoenix),  and finally The Corner Bakery Chopped Cobb Salad(Orange County CA).

Yes, I realize that all of these things are food.  So sue me.  I like food.  Most everything else in the world you can buy online.   Specialty food, and foodstuff (the things mentioned above)….must be purchased locally.  Which is why, I will be buying my Blues & BBQ loving step-father 3-4 bottles of signature BBQ sauce from an award winning local BBQ establishment here in Char-town that Josh and I  have recently discovered. Mac’s Speed Shop is delish…

I know that he’ll love this gift because every time he comes to visit he asks where we can go to get good BBQ, and up until now, we have never known.  I’m more excited about his gift than I am any other gift I am giving so far… it’s perfect for him, and it is only going to cost me (shhh) about $15.

Now it’s your turn! Get out there and hunt yourself down at least one Green Elephant this Christmas! Then Comment on this post and tell me what it is– I want to hear from you!

2 responses to “A ‘Green’ Elephant Exchange

  1. Lydia November 14, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    I have an older brother (Jack) who was active duty Army for four years. Three of those were years he missed Christmas: two in Iraq, one in South Korea. I knew that I wanted to mail him something from home (Morgantown, WV). I also knew that these were the sorts of gifts that need to be special. I went to Chico’s Bakery (in Morgantown) because they sell freshly baked, frozen pepperoni rolls by the case. When I told the man behind the counter what they were for, he refused to let me pay ANYTHING for them. For me, the lessons were that God gives us to each other as gifts when we need it the most; and that most people really do understand what Christmas is all about. I’m happy that you’re writing this blog. You’re a wonderful person. Also, should you buy pepperoni rolls, but them from Chicos.

  2. Amanda November 15, 2010 at 3:44 am

    charleston, wv has a lovely farmer’s market that is only ten minutes from me. They have many specialty shops indoors that include a wine/cheese shop and specialty chocolates. I love having an excuse to support our local economy and come away with really unique items for myself and others.

Leave a Reply

