My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

There’s No Place Like Home


“There’s No Place Like Home”- has been my Facebook status for the past several days followed with this awesome picture

It’s of me, lounging on my parent’s couch, in my newly purchased WVU sweatpants.  I bought them from my favorite store- Gabriel Brothers, while I was “home” this week on Thanksgiving Vacation.

At the time I took the photo, I really was thinking “There’s No Place Like Home” — meaning, there is no place like the place where you grew up, the place you call home.  The place where you know exactly where everything is, where the bedrooms are still referred to by you and your siblings names, and where they know just what your favorite foods are and have them waiting for you when you walk in the door.

A part of me will always feel that way, but things are changing.  I have my own family now, and even though we don’t have our own house yet, somehow, someway….we have made this place we live in a home.  As much as we love visiting our families, we are doing just that– visiting.

That was made even more clear to me now that Astaire is walking (slash running, slash climbing) all over the place.  Grandparents that only get to have babies around once or twice a year, have no need to create a Yes Environment, or babyproof.  There is a tremendous amount for her to get into that makes our chosen parenting style much more challenging (but not impossible!)

All in all we had an awesome visit, great fun, food, and family…. but I think Astaire summed it up best when we walked in the door last night after our 7 hour drive.  Josh put her down in the entry way, and she walked into the center of the living room and stood with her feet spread apart and threw up both hands in the air and yelled “OOOOHHHH!”, as if to say…this is my stuff!

Then she circled around, danced a little and dumped a big load in her diaper.

There really is, no place quite like home…

4 responses to “There’s No Place Like Home

  1. Josh November 26, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    Perfectly said babe.

    Your Awesome.

  2. Mom November 28, 2010 at 8:39 am

    You are right. There is nothing quite like home. Astaire is so small, but so smart!

  3. nancy November 28, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Couldn’t agree more.. 🙂

  4. Seth November 28, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    I just want to be able to call Charlotte home again…that’s what I want for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

