My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

Wax On, Wax Off


I’m no Karate Kid, but I could definitely pass for a teenage boy when it’s time to get my “Wax On, Wax Off”.  If you have never gotten anything waxed, or have only done say…your eyebrows, then you are in for an educational experience today!  I am taking you on the journey of waxing!

It all starts with a bit of laziness.  At least it did on my part.   I have never been one to shave my legs every day (who in the world has time for that?) and especially not after having a baby.  So the lack of time, followed closely by the fact that summers in Charlotte are way too hot to stick to my “jeans no matter what” rule made me decide that I would join in on the waxing fun.   I’m hooked!

So yesterday I was off to my waxing appointment and I decided it would be fun to share with my readers(that’s you!) I did my underarms and legs.  Here’s a before and after shot of each.

OK OK so I know what you are thinking

1. GROSS! I know! My poor husband right? Honestly, though it doesn’t get this bad until like week 4 and then he is totally saying “Call Sava!” But the hair has to be atleast a grain of rice long or it doesn’t pull out and it hurts way worse…. just a little FYI for you first timers!

2. My leg is actually not that fat…weird camera angle.

3. Look at the amazing difference! It stays smooth and lovely like this for weeks– No shaving and no maintenance.  It is totally worth my time and any amount of judgment you may be passing on me right now for looking like an amazon woman, and posting it on the internet.

Waxing is my “me” time.  Once every 4-6 weeks, I go take a little time just for mama.  I am not one to spend money on myself.  I don’t get a regular mani/pedi.  I cut and dye my own hair (or make Josh or Dana do it for me free of charge).  This is the one thing I do for myself that is a little bit of a splurge.

Every one deserves something they do just for themselves, guilt free.  This may not be what you choose to do for yourself, but do something.  It doesn’t have to be expensive, it doesn’t have to be much, but it should be something that makes you feel pretty(or handsome), something that makes you feel special, something that lifts your spirits.

2 responses to “Wax On, Wax Off

  1. Candra November 30, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    LOVE this post;)
    1. I love that you showed off the hairyness
    2. SUCH a fan of waxing!
    3. It totally made me laugh, which I needed today;)

  2. Barbara December 8, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Amazing how a story that talks about arm pit hair can be so inspiring!

Leave a Reply

