My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

Key to Kindness


If I were to describe myself in a few words, even say twenty-five, I’m not sure that “kind” would be one the adjectives I would use.  Giving, yes.  Honest, most definitely.  Kind….well, that one takes a little intentionality on my part most of the time.

When it comes to Acts of Kindness, I pretty much have that down.  I love to give, and create, and most of all I love to give something that I have created.  I’ve been known to pack a nutritious lunch for a homeless person that I routinely passed on my way to work (only for him not to be there that day…. go figure), because I felt he needed a change of pace from McDonald’s burgers.  If I was going to give, I was going to give my best.  And when they were taking up donations for orphans in the Ukraine at our church, I not only donated clothes, but also my entire stock of bows and headbands because I know from working with orphans in the past, that those little girls deserve nothing less than feeling like princesses every day.

But there is so much more to being kind than our actions.  The saying goes:

“Actions speak louder than words”, but that’s  really only true if you aren’t talking.

And, while I may not always speak out loud the things I really want to say.. I know that God knows the thought and intents of my heart.

I believe that as with anything, some people are just predisposed to be more “sweet natured” than others.  For me, it is going to take a little more work, but I’m willing.  I’m willing because it’s important not only for my own spiritual well being, but also for my family.  I have to be able to teach my children kindness, and to do that, I have to be a good example of what kindness embodies.

A few days before we had Astaire, Josh and I were wandering around an antique store (walking her out) and he found this old key that someone had re-purposed into a necklace.  We bought it because we thought it was something unique that we could remember the time by.  He wore it for a while, but somewhere along the way it got put in the drawer.   Today I am putting that chain around my neck for a new reason.  It’s my Key to Kindness.

Never let loyalty and kindness leave you! Tie them around your neck as a reminder. Write them deep within your heart. ~Proverbs 3:3

Thanks so much for stopping by! For those of you on the blog hop, be sure to leave a comment for a chance to win a gift certificate for a custom creation from My Sweetie Peetie!

your next stop is——>>>>>>>>www.blogerisms.blogspot.com

If you are just joining in on the fun of the hop and want to start at the beginning Start Here! All of the bloggers will be giving away fabulous prizes, so you want to be sure to check them all out!

Also, be sure to become a fan of My Journey Home on Facebook.

16 responses to “Key to Kindness

  1. Carrie Rowell December 10, 2010 at 10:55 am

    Love the “Key to Kindness” that’s great!

  2. Amelia December 10, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Cute stuff! Thanks for the chance to win!!!!

  3. SueAnn December 10, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Great blog!.. And not just this post! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Melanie R. December 10, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    WOW! I just spoke those words to someone I love very much….Actions Speak Louder Than Words. How true those words are today…for me. Thank you for your inspiring words.

  5. Courtney December 10, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    I am like you Tayla, kindness takes a lot of effort for me at times. I get rather annoyed by people sometimes and instead of being kind, I am regrettably the opposite. It is one of the parts of me that always needs fine tuning. But our God is a very gracious and patient God, and for that I am thankful.

  6. Sarah December 10, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Loved iT ! Thank you so much … Pick ME!! HEE HEEE

  7. Jessica Bellinger December 10, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    It take a little extra effort for me too. Thanks for the chance to win 🙂 Merry Christmas!

  8. MsJoyceG December 10, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    Thanks for the inspiration .. I’ll work on ME.

  9. sherly December 10, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Hi I am new here… what a lovely blog and the stuffs in sweetie peetie are so cuteee!!! Thanks for the kindness 🙂

  10. Amanda December 10, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    I cant imagine you as anything but kind and thoughtful, and I know you will teach your daughter those same values.

  11. Brenda December 10, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    You are kind but it’s nice that you realize you may have a small weakness and are willing to work on it. It takes strong person to do that. We all need to look inward to try to make ourselves a better person and I commend you for that. Astaire has a wonderful mom and dad!

  12. Angela December 11, 2010 at 12:45 am

    I have to say, you are awesome at giving… I can’t tell you how much we appreciate all the little things you send our way. Makie has worn her bows and almost everytime we get a compliment. And whenever someone sees the wipe case they are impressed with it. You have a creative edge and I love it. I was looking on the website of a local vendor and found some of your similar creations for way more money than you charge… hook me up with some of your business cards so I can be more effective in pushing your stuff!

  13. Sava December 11, 2010 at 5:54 am

    I loved this…I love the key too…I remember when Josh was wearing it and I wondered but never asked what it was for.
    Sorry I didn’t get a chance to hop around yesterday, but I am up early this morning to check things out!
    Much LOVE!

  14. Candra December 12, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    LOVE the necklace;) I think it’s such a special reminder!

  15. Renee December 12, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    I like the idea of wearing a reminder…so easy to get caught up in the day to day grind.

    Thanks!

  16. Jeanna Gripper December 12, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    Tayla, you are so super kind- we still use the bows you sent us, and will do so for a long time! I, too, feel a call to be kind to others- that’s why I coupon and help others learn to coupon. Today at Walmart I saved a mom about $3 on wipes and diapers. She was grateful. And it’s not just the poor that need kindness: a few weeks ago I gave a man dressed like he just came from a swanky office some coupons for the diapers he was buying. He was confused, but then smiled. I’ll never see them again, but a seed was planted. 🙂

Leave a Reply

