My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

Be Quiet.


With the insane amount of activity going on in my life this month, I feel like I am in a whirlwind. I have never been forced to be so incredibly focused.  Each day has a very specific list of tasks, schedule etc.  While I am a very organized person, I  am not naturally inclined to this type of  regimented  lifestyle…I am much more of a “wing it” kinda girl.

**(I will insert my disclaimer here and say that as a family we generally follow a routine but it is definitely one that is centered around Astaire and is completely based off of her current needs.  We follow her cues.)

 

I really am enjoying the sense of accomplishment that is coming with the focus, but I must say, I am finding myself on edge with the stress of all the responsibility and additional “things to do” this month, and unfortunately I have been all too short tempered.

All of this has made me realize how important it is to have quiet time.  Not just sitting still and being quiet.  Not “my time”, but time to for me to really focus in on God’s plans for the day.

Admittedly, this has always been my biggest struggle.  The issue I have is WHEN?  The obvious answer is first thing in the morning…but as most of you mamas know, the morning hits you in the face like a perfect storm!   As soon as I wake, I have a baby wanting to nurse, breakfast to make, diapers to change…. the list just continues and before I know it…it’s 11pm and I’m collapsing in bed praying that Astaire sleeps through the night “tonight”.

I know that I need to be quiet.  We all need to be quiet.  So I am asking for help this time.

When do you busy people spend your quiet time with God?

4 responses to “Be Quiet.

  1. Stephanie Nickel January 18, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    This is SO true Tayla! And to all this craziness we can add managing a blog and creating cutesie things! : ) Our youth ministry started this Bible reading plan called SOAP and it has helped me SO very much. S-scripture O-observe A-apply P-pray…You read the chapter for the day, you observe what the scripture is saying, how you can apply it to your life and then you pray about it! And you journal all this as you go. I love doing it.
    WHEN I do it is when Pais takes a nap (I do miss some days but I don’t think God holds it against me) : ) And if some days I don’t get to it while she naps I do it before I go to bed.

  2. Elizabeth Thomforde January 18, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    Hi Tayla Dear….

    Just want you to know that love and prayers are with you in all of your needs!!! Marriage and Motherhood requires much love and discipline of mind, spirit and body!!!! I know..I’ve been at it for many years!!!Only trusting the lord in every way will get you/us thru any & all situations!!! Victory OH, sweet Victory it is ours as we live trusting HIM in every situation!!!..Trust is an Must!!!
    Gods Blessings on the 3 of you!!!
    Lovingly…Grandma T

  3. Brenda January 18, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    sometimes it’s in car driving to and from places.

  4. Angl January 18, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    I usually get it in after she goes to bed. Sometimes while she nurses I try to at least read a proverb.

Leave a Reply

