My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

a heartfelt thank you-i’m finally home.


I am still drowning in boxes, but I have managed to take a little time to enjoy the house already.  I met our neighbors across the street, who just moved in a few months ago, and have a 5 month old little girl (eeep! things keep getting better and better!)

Astaire knows just how to get me to smile.

Riding her trike in HER yard

I feel like I’ve won an Oscar and I have 2 minutes to give my award speech. This has been a week unlike any other.  There are so many people that need thanking, I am not even certain where to begin. First and foremost…I have to say Jesus, because without him NONE of this would have been possible.  Secondly, my amazing husband Joshua…who has worked not just this week but for the past few years on practically no sleep, just to make this dream a reality for our family.

And then there are all of you…. Starting with out amazing real estate team Mitch Muller & Kirsten Hayes of ProStead Realty & David Millsaps of New American Mortgage, who worked countless hours (who am I kidding, MONTHS) to make this happen for us.  If you need a real estate team in the Charlotte area—these are your people! Working with Mitch is like having a very knowledgeable uncle (or young dad ;-))  walk you through houses.  You feel comfortable knowing he has your best interest at heart through the whole process.

Our Parents– for convincing us we needed to buy a house, that we were wasting our hard earned money paying rent, for gifting us money, for helping with repairs & painting, endless hours of  phone consultation about repairs, the best free babysitting you could ask for while doing repairs, and for the most amazing housewarming presents ever.

Jake Thomforde– the best brother/uncle we could ever ask for.  If I’ve said it once I’ve said it a million times, single ladies….you better snatch this one up.  Not everyone can handle Astaire for an entire day and this guy jumps at the chance to spend time with his niece.   She loves him just the same!  Thanks Jake for everything from babysitting, to helping with all those heavy boxes…I owe you biscuits and gravy.

Seth Bailey- your timing is always impeccable.  Though I know you came to interview…we had a job to do! Thank you so much for pitching in and helping with Astaire and for all of the help with repairs.  We really hope you get to move out here and enjoy the house with us!

Beccah & Drew Sutherland- You helped from the top to the bottom…if it weren’t for you, we could have potentially purchased a lemon, but then you would have gotten to help us make lemonade, so I guess either way it would have worked out! You guys are truly awesome friends and we are so thankful for all of the work you have done on repairs as well as all of the amazing connections for carpet and appliances.  Your family is such a blessing to us!

Dee & Dana Townes- Dana, without your superior common sense I would not have made it through the packing phase, and for that I am forever indebted to you.  I am also thankful for your amazing ability to do trim work.  Dee I really wish I could have gotten a picture of you hoisting the washing machine above your head all by yourself, because words cannot describe the hulkness which you possessed during that very moment.  Thank you for coming out of moving retirement for us.

To all of our movers : Rocky Norkum, Ryan Greseth, Simon Norman, Jacob Norman, Javier

You all did what I could not do, and so for that I am so thankful.  You are all granted VIP access to our housewarming party, at which there will be amazing food and fun.

And finally, to those wishing to remain anonymous… we could not have done this without you.  I appreciate and am so happy to have had you to help.

helping mama clean

One response to “a heartfelt thank you-i’m finally home.

  1. Seth January 30, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    I appreciate the kind words Tayla, I just wish I could have been more of a help in my time there. Hopefully, I’ll get a chance to make up for that with some “after move-in” work. You and Josh were and are a huge blessing to me. Thanks for putting up and putting me up during arguably the busiest week of the year. Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

