My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

frustration, admiration and everything in between.


Dealing with a toddler can be an emotional roller coaster- if you let it.  The funny things they do can provoke some of the truest laughter and joy you will ever experience, and in the same moment those seemingly funny things can create mounds of frustration and anger.  The best thing I have found to keep from going insane is to be sure that I #1 get enough sleep and #2 approach each day with a fresh perspective, keeping in mind that I have a little person who is developing her own personality on my hands!

I know that most of you know what I am talking about.  Have you ever been in the middle of trying to discipline your toddler and they did something to make you laugh? They are totally trying to distract you! They know how much you love them and they know if they can just get you to crack a smile…this will all be over soon!  Astaire did this just the other day…and it was so funny to me that I couldn’t contain myself, and well timeout was over.  I put her in timeout (which lasts a sum total of 1 minute) and she immediately proceeds to put her hands over both of her eyes, take them off, and says “Hi Mama!” and smiles 🙂

It made me laugh so hard that I couldn’t just do the “turn away and laugh”– I busted into full on belly laughs… as did everyone else in the house.

I could have chalked my timeout laughter up to an EPIC  “parenting” fail, but I didn’t.  Why? Because ten years from now, this is going to be a funny story, she has already forgotten that timeout…and because it was the first time she put two words together!

Then there are the times when you are trying to teach the toddler something they just don’t really want to learn at that particular moment.  These are really the worst.  First of all, this just creates a lot of frustration for everyone, but most of all for US as parents.  Why do we insist on making them learn so fast and grow up so soon?  I had one of these moments just this morning, and what I really learned, is that I am raising a fiercely independent and strong willed young lady- but I would have it no other way.

I sat her down for her “nack” , and when I put the bowl of fruit in front of her, I asked her to say “thank you”.  She shook her head  and popped a grape in her mouth and said “mmmm”.  I took the bowl away and we tried again. About 5 times.  Needless to say, she began to get angry, and the tears started to flow, because she really really loves her “apples”(grapes).  I was of course explaining this whole time, that when Mama gives you something you need to say thank you, etc.  And she does in fact know the word “thank you”.  After she began to get really worked up, I realized that maybe she was just really hungry and that this was not the time for this exercise to take place.  I put her back in her seat and gave her the bowl of grapes, as I continued to put my groceries away.

1 minute, 2 minutes, 3 minutes, 4… and from out of nowhere as my head is in the freezer arranging items I hear, “Tain Tu”.   I look over and she’s looking at me smiling and popping a grape.

I was so proud of her in that moment, because she came to it on her own.  Although I realize that she is stubborn and totally challenging… I love that so much about her.  I definitely can’t blame her, look at who her parents are….she definitely gets those qualities more than honestly.

I pray that she continues to be challenging– because if she is challenging with me, she will challenge herself and others.  I pray that she continues to know what she wants, and when she wants it, so that she does not compromise on her beliefs when all of her friends are doing something different.  But most of all, I pray that she continues to do things in her own time, to think for herself, to seek the Lord out for herself, and not just be a parrot–mimicking the things that Josh and I say.  I love that she is her own person already, even though at times it creates frustration– mostly it creates admiration.

3 responses to “frustration, admiration and everything in between.

  1. Joshua Thomforde February 10, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    She really is amazing. Funny how she is such an awesome strong willed little girl. Just yesterday she just had to help daddy put up the chandelier.

  2. Lauren February 10, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    Love Astaire….Hilarious. And you are such a great mama! I am taking notes 😉

  3. Brenda February 12, 2011 at 8:34 am

    I am touched by the fact that you are already seeing that even though our children are a product of ourselves, we can still admire and respect them…that’s how I feel about you…..I love you.

Leave a Reply

