My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

a sunday afternoon in someone else’s shoes.


I practically ran out of the store, loaded my groceries, buckled Astaire in her seat with a snack and then sat and cried quietly in the front seat giving myself the third degree for being such an idiot and causing myself such embarrassment.  “Why didn’t I deposit the check before I came to the store?” “Why did I come to the store on a Sunday?” “Why, why, why did you let this happen?!”

I will stop here before I even start and say that we are by no means in any kind of financial hardship…we do not need anyone to send anonymous donations or drop groceries off at our house.  This incident happened solely as a result of about 10 random mistakes all colliding at one check out counter….

Yesterday was by far the most embarrassing moment of my life.  I went to Wal-Mart, did my usual grocery shopping and hopped in the checkout line.  The cashier gave me my total, and as usual by this point, Astaire was starting to fuss.  She always seems to want to play with their “computer” or it is at the time of checkout that she realizes I have snuck fruit into the cart, and she decides she needs some “apples”.  Either way, it makes checking out a little more hectic as I’m sure most of you know.

So I swiped my card, entered my PIN, and for the first time in my life I received a message that said “NOT APPROVED”.  So I tried again…”NOT APPROVED”.  It is then that I realized, that there is a check in my purse that I forgot to deposit, and obviously, I thought I had.  No big deal…. I’ll use my other account, and transfer the money when I get home.  I opened my wallet, and the card to that account was not there (I had given it to Josh to use and forgot to get it back).  My stomach sank.  There I was with a cart full of groceries, Astaire with an open box of cheerios munching away, and the line behind me seemed to be growing exponentially as I searched for some way to pay.  I felt like I was going to pass out.

I instead, parked my cart, let everyone in the line through as I went and checked my account balance at the ATM.  I realized how much I had overshot my budget and when I went back to the line, thankfully, everyone was gone.  I told the cashier it was the most embarrassing day of my life and that I had to put some things back.  I couldn’t even look her in the eye.  She was completely gracious and said it had happened to her before, and that it happens all the time, that it was no big deal…

If I had been a bystander, I would have paid for my groceries.  It was the oddest moment of my life.  I felt as if I was actually standing in someone else’s shoes.  This wasn’t a real situation for me.  This was a mishap.  This happened only because of a lack of planning and communication.  The reality is though, like the cashier said to me, it happens all the time.  There are mothers and fathers every day who have to put things back, or who have to tell their children no when they ask for simple every day things, because they simply don’t have enough in their account to cover the cost.

I realize every day how blessed I am, but yesterday gave me a whole new level of appreciation for the things I have.  Thank God that I don’t have to count nickels and dimes on a regular basis to make my trip to the grocery store.  I have a beautiful home, and beautiful family, and we always have food to eat and shoes to wear….even if they are someone else’s for a few minutes in the check out line.

There is an amazing program, that I’m sure many of you already know about called Angel Food Ministries.  Angel Food Ministries is able to provide families with approximately $65 worth of quality nutritious food for $30. It doesn’t matter what your income is, they encourage everyone to participate, and use their savings to help others.  Check it out!
2 responses to “a sunday afternoon in someone else’s shoes.

  1. Lauren February 21, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    I’m sorry this happened… But assure you that it definitely happens a lot. I just appreciate your willingness to share via the blogworld. And usually these sort of things only happen once- though I do misplace my debit card a lot when changing purses and have to figure out a new paying strategy or get out of line. Not fun.

  2. Me Transformed February 21, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    These situations happen more often than you think. Today I left my wallet at home. I was mortified as I handed the gas station attendant $ 3.75 in change for one gallon of gas! Thank God I made it home.

    Like you, the above is not a way of life for me, but an inconvenience I created. An inconvenience that reminds me how blessed I am.

Leave a Reply

