My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

the amazing (landscaping) race.


This weekend started out with great anticipation because Josh was scheduled for the whole weekend off and we received a gift box in the mail on Thursday which I decided would help fund our weekend festivities!

Astaire went straight for the cookies from Gigi….but I spotted that Orange right away- and I’m not talking about fruit.

With spring practically in full swing here in Charlotte, I knew what had to be done.  We made our early morning trip to Home Depot on Saturday after breakfast, picked up a few necessary yard tools…and flowers!  I raked the entire front yard, Josh pulled up all the old mulch in the flower beds, finished trimming the hedges and developed our 5 year plan for the landscaping.  No seriously…it’s a 5 year plan.  We have come to the understanding that realistically it cannot all be accomplished this year.  All new grass, ripping out shrubs, rain water reservoir..for the garden..the list goes on.

The best part of the weekend though, is that we started the landscaping race in our neighborhood.  By the time we were finishing up for the day, all of our neighbors were venturing out of their houses and starting to go to work in their yards.  We are even Freecycling some large rocks we found around the yard by giving them to our neighbors,  which is my favorite part because it helps us get to know them better!

2 responses to “the amazing (landscaping) race.

  1. Brenda February 28, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    That is so wonderful. It’s good to get to know your neighbors. You are so friendly and cheerful, they will love you. Good for you. It’s raining cats and dogs here.

  2. grandma February 28, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    You are more like your grandma than you realize. I used to meet my neighbors in a new neighborhood by baking a cake, making coffee then I would start knocking on doors. I loved doing that. People would say they had lived there for a year and sometimes lots longer and not know their next door neighbors, not me. I am proud of that outgoing personality. Love you.

Leave a Reply

