My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

a mom-umental survey


I must admit that over the course of my every day routine, I often times find myself thinking “I wonder how so-and-so does this?” or “…figured that out?”  Naturally, most of these thoughts surround parenting, and a lot of them are what some would call trivial questions.  But I think it’s always fun to know what other moms (and dads!) are doing and thinking!   I know that we all have different philosophy when it comes to child rearing, and that most definitely plays into our major, and even sometimes minor decisions, which is why everyone’s answers will be different.  I would love it if you would take some time, and answer any of the questions you feel inclined to below… some I have figured out my own answers to, some I still need your feedback on!  All of them I know that other parents would definitely benefit from hearing the answers to. I hope you’ll join in on the fun…. I’ll even go first!

(if you have a question you would like to add, please send me a message via facebook at My Journey Home and I will add it!)

Ready, Set, GO!

How many children do you have? Will you have more children?

At what age do you feel your first child(and you) would best be suited to handle a second child?

Do you have a set amount of time you spend “teaching” your child during the day? If so, how long and what age?

At what age did your child start repeating everything you said to the point of understanding?

When did your child learn colors, numbers, ABC’s?

How often do you have to buy diapers/wipes?

At what age did your child show signs of readiness for potty training?

At what age did you start attempting potty training?

At what age do you stop using the soft spout sippy cups?

How long do bottles/sippy cups last? For example do you save them for your next child to use?

If your child uses/used a pacifier, how did you/will you wean them from it? What if they can’t sleep without it?

When do you change the crib into a toddler bed?

How do you keep the child in the bed after it becomes a toddler bed?

and last but certainly not least….

Approximately how much do you get done in one day, and can you share any “secrets to success” with the rest of the class?

13 responses to “a mom-umental survey

  1. terri Ward March 2, 2011 at 10:21 am

    is this where we answer the above questions?

  2. Tayla March 2, 2011 at 10:25 am

    How many children do you have? Will you have more children? I of course only have Astaire right now, but definitely want more.

    At what age do you feel your first child(and you) would best be suited to handle a second child? Right now, TODAY, I feel like I should have gotten pregnant right after I had her. Because at about 15 months, I was feeling like “yeaaa I can totally do 2 kids”. But now, she is 18 months, and totally mature for her age- entering the terrible 2’s I believe. She whines all day, wants my undivided attention, and I feel like the grace period is over. So I have no idea. I’m now ready to have another one, but I feel like she may not do so well.

    Do you have a set amount of time you spend “teaching” your child during the day? If so, how long and what age? Not really a set amount of time, although she seems more interested so we may start doing this soon. We read her picture book, she points and say “wadiga” which i think means “what is that” and I tell her what each thing is… then we do it the opposite way and she can tell me most of the items. We do it for as long as she’ll sit still.

    At what age did your child start repeating everything you said to the point of understanding? We aren’t there yet. I’m hoping it’s soon.

    When did your child learn colors, numbers, ABC’s? She only knows “Yellow”, “two” and “E”….don’t ask.

    How often do you have to buy diapers/wipes? I buy diapers once a month and wipes once every 2 months or so… we buy the large box of wipes at costco and the large box of diapers at BRU(babies R us)

    At what age did your child show signs of readiness for potty training? She hasn’t yet.

    At what age did you start attempting potty training? I have put her on the toilet twice. Once, she got off, and then went and squatted on the floor and peed… she’s not there yet.

    At what age do you stop using the soft spout sippy cups? I have just retired them at 17 months. Probably a little late?

    How long do bottles/sippy cups last? For example do you save them for your next child to use? I’m not saving bottles because I only had 2 since we breastfed. They got pretty beat up so I threw them out. Sippy cups, I’m assuming I’ll play it by ear.

    If your child uses/used a pacifier, how did you/will you wean them from it? What if they can’t sleep without it? We haven’t reached this point yet…but I’m nervous and I do not have a plan! HELP!

    When do you change the crib into a toddler bed? My plan is to wait until she starts climbing out of the crib, or until I need the crib for a new baby. At which point I would probably just buy her a twin with side rails.

    How do you keep the child in the bed after it becomes a toddler bed? I have no idea…I have a feeling it will require some co-sleeping techniques.

  3. Beccah March 2, 2011 at 10:48 am

    I love that I get to be the first! Or at least it looks that way as I write this! Thought maybe a mom with some older kids might help too! Here we go…
    *I have 2 children (Isaac will be 9 this month, Ainsley will be 7 in June). My hearts desire is to adopt one more whenever Papa says its time to!
    *Isaac was 18 months when I got pregnant with Ainsley
    *The only actual set teaching time I did with the kids when they were little was reading time. Otherwise, everything was a learning lesson. I would say “Lets put on your pink pants” as we got dressed. “Lets eat this orange, it is a circle isn’t it” stuff like that. Pointing out all of the things in the world are the most simple learning lessons. (Isaac was reading by age 4, Ainsley was reading as she entered Kindergarten. I think reading together is a HUGE advantage going into school. I never actually taught them how to read except to read to them slowly and allow them to “read” with me)
    *I am not sure of when my kids started to repeat everything I said. They were able to follow directions given to them by 18-24 months. I expected them to follow these directions too because I knew they understood.
    *No diapers or wipes for me now! I enjoy buying them for new mommies now!
    *Isaac was fully potty trained by 2.5yrs. That is about when he showed interest too. Ainsley, didn’t care til 2.5 and was fully potty trained by 3.
    *I started using sippy cups with straws around 2. I felt they were sturdier then the soft spout kind.
    *No sippy cups that I had lasted from one kid to the next!
    *Colors, numbers, and shapes were all known by 3. Letters for Isaac by 4, for Ainsley about 5.
    *We took pacifiers away from both children around 6 months old, when we began to tend to them less during the night. We went 2 nights (both kids) having to hear them cry when they went to sleep and if they woke up and had to get themselves back to sleep. It broke my heart but I knew it was for the best. I knew that the older that they got, the more attached they would get to the pacifier and the harder it would be to get rid of it. They don’t realize that they can sleep without it. It is what soothes them, until they realize that they can fall asleep on their own without it also.
    *We switched Isaac to a twin size when he had just turned 2 because we didn’t want him to associate us taking the crib from him with getting adjusted to having a little sis at the same time. Ainsley went to a toddler bed at about 2 also.
    *Consistant discipline keeps the child in the new bed. If they get up, you turn them around and walk them right back. No love and affection, just time to go night night, put them in their bed, and walk away. OVER AND OVER AND OVER!!! Until they realize there is nothing fun to get out of bed for. We removed all toys from the bedroom as well so that there wasn’t anything they could play with.
    *When my children were home I set times for myself. I would clean for 20mins and spend time with kids for 30mins or something like that. It made my children realize they were not the center of the world and that I had other responisibilities also. As well as allowing them to learn to entertain themselves. They would join me at times too. I would figure out ways to allow them to “help”. I set aside any and all expectancies as to what had to be done also that way I wouldn’t be let down at the end of the day. I realized that my first ministry was to my children. If I didn’t finish something it was fine as long as my children got what they needed. I was a mother always before I was a housekeeper, maid, chef, errand runner, etc.
    Love you Tay!

  4. Kendra March 2, 2011 at 11:25 am

    How many children do you have? Will you have more children? Right now I have one, Kooper Maxwell-29 months ❤
    At what age do you feel your first child(and you) would best be suited to handle a second child? Right now, I feel like I could handle a 2.5 year old and a newborn, but I dont think Kooper is ready. He is a mommy's boy, and sort of dependent on me 🙂

    Do you have a set amount of time you spend “teaching” your child during the day? If so, how long and what age? We try to do atleast three structured activities a day. We usually do some type of art (coloring, finger painting, etc) Puzzles, and at least two books, usually before bedtime and naptime. I know it sounds like a lot, but he loves to do these as he calls them "pojects", he craves structure

    At what age did your child start repeating everything you said to the point of understanding? He started repeating early, around 18 months, but I feel that he really started understanding around two.

    When did your child learn colors, numbers, ABC’s? Its a work in progress now, he knows most of his colors and nows the ABC's up to the letter "G" and can give you an example (A is for apple, etc)

    How often do you have to buy diapers/wipes? Once a month at Sam's Club.

    At what age did your child show signs of readiness for potty training? 2 years, 3 Months he completely potty trained himself. Due to the flu, he regressed, we took a break and are re starting next week.

    At what age did you start attempting potty training? I tried around 2, and soon realized he simply wasn't ready. Because I am home with him I have decided to let him do it at his pace, with lots of encouragement obviously!

    At what age do you stop using the soft spout sippy cups? He still uses one for milk at nap and bed time.

    How long do bottles/sippy cups last? For example do you save them for your next child to use? Sippy cups have a short life at my house, hes a 2 year old, bull in china shop..Bottles, I have saved for my next child, I invested in great bottles and they are in great condition.

    If your child uses/used a pacifier, how did you/will you wean them from it? What if they can’t sleep without it? He used a binky for his first week of life. Never cared for it after that! I got lucky on this one

    When do you change the crib into a toddler bed? He is still in his crib. He loves it, sleeps great and doesn't attempt to climb out of it. My thought was always the minute he climbed out I'd switch it. What's the rush if hes happy 🙂

    How do you keep the child in the bed after it becomes a toddler bed? This is why mommy and baby are fine with him still being in a crib! lol

    and last but certainly not least….

    Approximately how much do you get done in one day, and can you share any “secrets to success” with the rest of the class? Ugh, never enough. My laundry is always behind because he likes to "help". Besides, I am shaping a young mind, I have better things to do than having a spotless house<3

    Great idea tayla!<3

  5. Haley March 2, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    How many children do you have? Will you have more children? We just have Levi Boy so far. I am NOT a fan of chemically enhanced BC because of what it does to my emotional/hormone/health balance. So I have recently dropped it. *GASP* We are pretty much ready for round 2…other than wanting to be more financially stable. I really think tho, that #2 is going to throw the whole balance off whack anyway, and we’ll have to find a whole new balance, so what the hay?! 🙂

    At what age do you feel your first child(and you) would best be suited to handle a second child? I really think that once you get to the place where you’re starting to think about it, you’re as ready as you’ll ever be. And quite frankly, your little one will only know what you choose for them. So, if you add a wee one to the mix, that is just how it is for them, and everyone will adjust.

    Do you have a set amount of time you spend “teaching” your child during the day? If so, how long and what age? I’m always talking to Levi, pointing out names, colors, whatever we’re talking about. I am a big believer that your children watch YOU and learn from being around you. Busting out things like flash cards are probably not age appropriate simply because they are more interested in what YOU’RE doing anway. 🙂

    At what age did your child start repeating everything you said to the point of understanding? Um? He’s 1, so…not yet.

    When did your child learn colors, numbers, ABC’s? Levi seems to really like the color red and yellow…but other than that, he’s not saying. ; )

    How often do you have to buy diapers/wipes?
    We buy a 100 pack roughly every month…ish. I use cloth wipes:)
    At what age did your child show signs of readiness for potty training?
    We are so not there! Haha.
    At what age did you start attempting potty training?
    See above
    At what age do you stop using the soft spout sippy cups?
    When he started chewing holes in them!
    How long do bottles/sippy cups last? For example do you save them for your next child to use? We have waged the War of the Sippy Cups! All of the ‘cool’ sippy cups don’t last at ALL, and we had to purchase a cheap crappy-looking one on a youth trip…and of course, the ugly duckling is outlasting them all. Figures. I am a believer in the Sippy Cup Conspiracy.

    If your child uses/used a pacifier, how did you/will you wean them from it? What if they can’t sleep without it? Levi used a paci from the time he was born until about 3 or 4 months ago. We were down to 1 (because they dissappear like socks!) and then the church nursery gave it away to some other kid! We had been talking about weaning him anyway, so we figured ok then. We won’t buy anymore. We didn’t make a big deal out of it, and he did great. He would take a wee bit longer to fall asleep at first. (partially bc he was teething. Great timing, I know.) But literally after just a few days, we were home free. He didn’t really even notice. (and if he needed something to comfort him, he has a blankey…and if he needed to chew on something, we gave him…you guessed it! The sippy cup.)

    When do you change the crib into a toddler bed? I’m with Tayla on this one: until he climbs out himself, or we have need of it for Baby #2. I think that little ones should be contained until they are capable of handling themselves safely…

    How do you keep the child in the bed after it becomes a toddler bed? They’re gonna climb out at first, because they can. (Hello, wouldn’t you?! Haha.) My theory is one borrowed from my mom: if/when they climb out of bed, simply tell them no, it’s time to sleep, and put them back. It will take work, but so does the rest of parenting. Eventually, they’ll get it. 🙂

    and last but certainly not least….

    Approximately how much do you get done in one day, and can you share any “secrets to success” with the rest of the class?
    My favorite thing is to be home, working on something I need to accomplish, and just having Levi right there with me. If I need to vacuum, I occupy him momentarily in his high chair with a snack…because if I don’t, he’ll chase me. : D For cleaning, or organizing…or redecorating ; )…I just gate the stairs, close doors of rooms I don’t want him in, and have at it. He explores, and I get stuff done…just at a slower pace. If I want to zoom thru cleaning, I wait till he’s napping. ; )

  6. Andrew March 2, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    How many children do you have? Will you have more children?
    4 ages 1,2,3 and 4
    At what age do you feel your first child(and you) would best be suited to handle a second child? we had all our children almost immediately

    Do you have a set amount of time you spend “teaching” your child during the day? If so, how long and what age? no, although in some ways as long as they are awake, we are teaching.

    At what age did your child start repeating everything you said to the point of understanding? as early as 8 months, as late as 18mos

    When did your child learn colors, numbers, ABC’s? around 1,5 years.

    How often do you have to buy diapers/wipes? we had a short time when all 4 were in diapers or pull ups…im glad thats over… every 3 weeks i would say with only 2 in diapers at the moment

    At what age did your child show signs of readiness for potty training? between 1.5 and 2, but our oldest is 4 and still has an accident now and again.

    At what age did you start attempting potty training?too early with our first, i dont think she was ready…so we let it come to them.

    At what age do you stop using the soft spout sippy cups? almost never used them

    How long do bottles/sippy cups last? For example do you save them for your next child to use? the three oldest, all girls, share around 12 of them

    If your child uses/used a pacifier, how did you/will you wean them from it? What if they can’t sleep without it? the first 2 never took one, the third is 2 in may, and still has one, although she could be broken from it any day now, its a matter of causing the least amount of stress, so we will let her have it until the baby is done breast feeding likely.

    When do you change the crib into a toddler bed? when they learned to climb out of the crib and we didnt want them to get hurt.

    How do you keep the child in the bed after it becomes a toddler bed? our kids have always slept good, we dont have a lot of trouble getting them into bed, or getting them to stay.

    and last but certainly not least….

    Approximately how much do you get done in one day, and can you share any “secrets to success” with the rest of the class?

    We get very little done until all the kids are in bed, even then, we sometimes avoid all the work. We do laundry all day every day, and dishes 3 times a day and vacuum about every other day. the things that get left are usually the kids toy room and bedrooms, although they arent allowed in their bedrooms during the day, because it is too hard for us to monitor what they are doing (they will always take all their clothes out of the closets and throw them around the room, we can seem to stop them no matter what, so their rooms are off limits)
    My biggest thing is remembering that my children, especially the older ones, are still only 3 and 4 so i shouldnt expect too much out of them, and even if i think they should be able to do some things, they are likely still too young to be doing them all the time.
    we also read a lot to them, they like it and we like it.

    And last but not least, give the kids a room, with a tv and dvd player, sometimes you just need a break, and even if you cant get anything done, at least you dont have to listen to dora or blue all day.

  7. Heather March 2, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    How many children do you have? Will you have more children?
    ~I have 3 children and don’t know at this point whether I’ll have anymore or not. Probably not, but it’s not an absolute no at this point.

    At what age do you feel your first child(and you) would best be suited to handle a second child?
    ~I had Lucie (my #2) when Ethan was 4 1/2. This age gap seemed perfect to me. He was old enough to understand what was going on, and would talk to my belly and sing songs, and then when Lucie came, he was very helpful. Getting the diaper bag for me, or whatever I needed. The gap between Lucie and Garrett is much smaller, 22 months. Way too close. I was just thinking yesterday that poor Lucie didn’t get to be THE baby for very long at all. It’s settling down now though that Garrett is a year and a half.

    Do you have a set amount of time you spend “teaching” your child during the day? If so, how long and what age?
    I read to my belly when I was pregnant with all 3 kids, and played classical music to my belly through headphones to the first 2…Garrett gets the short end of the stick once in a while because I’m a lot busier now than I was with just one. We sing educational songs and watch educational shows sometimes, and point out the colors and shapes of things, but I don’t like too much structure because I feel like they start school at 5 and from then on the whole rest of their life is structured and scheduled, a lot of the time by other people, so I don’t do a lot of that. I just work teaching into play.

    At what age did your child start repeating everything you said to the point of understanding?
    I don’t remember Ethan ever really repeating me. He made up his own language starting at about 18 months….. Lucie was 3 in December and she has been repeating me for about a year. Especially when I tell Ethan to put his nose in the corner. Garrett isn’t really talking yet, so we’ll see.

    When did your child learn colors, numbers, ABC’s?
    Ethan knew his colors and ABC’s before he was 2 years old, and Lucie is 3 and has been able to count to 20 and sing her abc’s for about a year. Garrett hasn’t really started yet. Lucie says that everything is blue.

    How often do you have to buy diapers/wipes?
    About once a month usually.

    At what age did your child show signs of readiness for potty training?
    Ethan was almost 4 years old before he was completely potty trained. He wanted to pee outside, and sometimes he just held his #2 in… it was terrible. Lucie decided on her own at about 26 months that she didn’t want to wear diapers anymore. She goes all day without having accidents, but still has a little trouble with nighttime, so she wears a pullup. But it’s usually dry.

    At what age did you start attempting potty training?
    I started trying with Ethan as soon as he was 2, and it took 2 and a half years almost. I thought he was going to kindergarten in a diaper. And Lucie decided she wanted potty trained herself. I’m going to go that route with Garrett too.

    At what age do you stop using the soft spout sippy cups?
    1 year. No bottles or soft sippy cups after 1 year old for any of the 3.

    How long do bottles/sippy cups last? For example do you save them for your next child to use?
    I still have a couple of sippy cups that were Ethan’s, and he will be 8 in June. I have a whole cabinet shelf of sippy cups.

    If your child uses/used a pacifier, how did you/will you wean them from it? What if they can’t sleep without it? Fortunately none of my 3 kids wanted anything to do with a pacifier, ever. Naptime, bedtime, daytime nothing. They didn’t want it.

    When do you change the crib into a toddler bed? Garrett has been in a toddler bed now for about 3 months. That’s the earliest I ever did it. It just depends on the kid I think. Ethan was in his crib until he was 2 and climbed out. Lucie was in the crib until I needed it for Garrett, and Garrett was MISERABLE in the crib as soon as he woke up. He didn’t like being closed in.

    How do you keep the child in the bed after it becomes a toddler bed?
    My kids sleep like rocks, mostly. At least 8 hours of non-stop sleep every night unless theyre sick or something weird is going on or wakes them up. Ethan and Lucie have always slept well, Garrett has slept through the night since he was about 4 months old. He is up when he’s teething or sick, but for the most part everybody sleeps now. I’m pretty lucky.

    Approximately how much do you get done in one day, and can you share any “secrets to success” with the rest of the class?
    I get absolutely nothing done during the day, because I work full time Monday through Friday. So in the evenings I just spend as much time playing with them as I can since I don’t have them through the day, and I use one weekend day to clean. If I don’t get much done I don’t. I figure the house will be cleaner when they’re older. I don’t worry about it too much. I maintain the kitchen and the bathroom and stuff like that, but the toys and clothes just can be everywhere sometimes. I’m not that concerned about it. They’re only little for a little bit. Ethan is so big already and in not much longer they’ll all 3 be in school and I’ll wish I was stepping on hotwheels and finding sippy cups in the toybox.

  8. Haley March 2, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    I would just like to add, that, although Levi doesn’t do the ABC’s, etc, he does his own version of things. He “sings”, dances, and…gives speeches. Complete with hand and arm gestures, facial expressions, and vocal pauses. It’s hilarious. We casually refer to him as “The Great Orator”.

  9. Jessica March 2, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    How many children do you have? Will you have more children?
    I only have Emmalyn who just turned 2.

    At what age do you feel your first child(and you) would best be suited to handle a second child?
    After I had Emmalyn, Matt was immediately ready for another child. Of course I though he was CRAZY! Now, I am thinking we are ready for another but he is not so sure. Emmalyn loves babies so I think she would be thrilled to have a baby brother or sister. We will get it together….eventually!

    Do you have a set amount of time you spend “teaching” your child during the day? If so, how long and what age?
    Matt and I both work so during the week we are fortunate enough that Emmalyn gets to spend time with both of her gradmothers. They both read books to her and spend time coloring, working on her colors and shapes. On the weekends I really try to concentrate on shapes and colors with her early in the morning when she is at her best. After nap time we color. We always read before nap and night night time.

    At what age did your child start repeating everything you said to the point of understanding?
    I think she was a repeater at about 18 months but I think she is just now starting to understand everything!

    When did your child learn colors, numbers, ABC’s?
    We are currently working on colors. She can count to fifteen and say all of her ABC’s. She has been counting and doing the ABC’s since she was about 18 months old.

    How often do you have to buy diapers/wipes?
    Diapers about once a month and wipes about once every couple of months. Now we are just buying pull ups and this just started so I am unsure of the frequency since she is just using them at night time. We buy diapers/pull ups and wipes at Sams.

    At what age did your child show signs of readiness for potty training?
    At about 23 months.

    At what age did you start attempting potty training?
    When she wanted to go to the potty we jumped right on her bandwagon! She is now fully potty trained during the day. Sometimes at nap time she will wake up dry and sometimes she doesn’t. I am told the night time training will come with time.

    At what age do you stop using the soft spout sippy cups?
    We never used the soft spout sippy cups. I felt that they were too much like a bottle.

    How long do bottles/sippy cups last? For example do you save them for your next child to use?
    I used Avent bottles and I saved them because they were in great shape. I can always replace the nipples if need be. Sippy cups are tossed constantly at my house. I don’t think we will ever be able to save one.

    If your child uses/used a pacifier, how did you/will you wean them from it? What if they can’t sleep without it?
    Ughh… Emmalyn has her “ba” and loves it. She definitely can’t sleep without it. I attempted to wean her from it and I cut the top of it at the suggestion of the pediatrician but, Emmalyn did not care. The next day she decided to use the potty so I gave up on the “ba”. Suggestions are appreciated!

    When do you change the crib into a toddler bed?
    Emmalyn climbed out at 18 months… so we immediately changed it

    How do you keep the child in the bed after it becomes a toddler bed?
    After we changed the crib into the toddler bed we had no problems keeping her in. She would even yell “Mommy Daddy I done!” when she woke up. Or if she dropped one of her stuffed animals out she would wouldn’t even get out to get it she would yell for us. Recently, she has decided to get up and open the door so we just put her back in bed and shut the door and she normally gives up after a time or two. In the morning she gets up opens the door and stands at the gate in front of her door and yells “GOOOOD MOOORNNING!”
    and last but certainly not least….

    Approximately how much do you get done in one day, and can you share any “secrets to success” with the rest of the class?
    I work during the day and I am also taking online classes through WVU to finish another degree. I couldn’t get by without my mom and my MIL who help with dishes and laundry and general picking up. Matt and I live by a schedule in the evenings. Picking up, bath time, dinner and laundry wouldn’t ever get done without us working as a team. We spend as much time as possible with Emmalyn on the weekends. I get done what I can and leave the rest for the next day. I will have a clean house…one day!

  10. Sarah March 2, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    How many children do you have? Will you have more children?
    1 and 1 in the oven due any day…. probably not

    At what age do you feel your first child(and you) would best be suited to handle a second child?
    any day now! lol we felt like 2 years apart was enough time… i’ll let you know 🙂

    Do you have a set amount of time you spend “teaching” your child during the day? If so, how long and what age?
    Everything is teaching. Wiley loves and wants to help with every little thing so we say everything we are doing.

    At what age did your child start repeating everything you said to the point of understanding?
    around 18 months

    When did your child learn colors, numbers, ABC’s?
    He knows some of each..

    How often do you have to buy diapers/wipes?
    We actually have only bought one pack of diapers since wiley was born … a family member buys them for us every 2 weeks!! Wipes – I buy the big box from Costco so I’m not sure but I am thinking like 3 months?

    At what age did your child show signs of readiness for potty training?
    he is showing signs now… he has never peed at night since he was like 3 months old. his diaper is always dry..

    At what age did you start attempting potty training?
    we tried 2 months ago… all he did was sit on the toilet – toot – and then say he was done. he did it 3 days in a row lol

    At what age do you stop using the soft spout sippy cups?
    we skipped soft spout

    How long do bottles/sippy cups last? For example do you save them for your next child to use?
    maybe? some of them are looking worn down cuz wiley likes to chew on them

    If your child uses/used a pacifier, how did you/will you wean them from it? What if they can’t sleep without it?
    wiley likes his binkie more now than ever… so i have no idea?!

    When do you change the crib into a toddler bed?
    we had to move wiley out of the crib bc of the new baby and we did it at 19 months

    How do you keep the child in the bed after it becomes a toddler bed?
    we have wiley in a full size bed and I lay with him until he falls asleep (i was rocking him to sleep so not too different). he gets up earlier now but still sleeps well. And he LOVES his bed!

    and last but certainly not least….

    Approximately how much do you get done in one day, and can you share any “secrets to success” with the rest of the class?

    I am always able to clean the kitchen every morning when wiley is watching a disney show and eating his breakfast. He is the most relaxed at this time and so I am able to clean, empty/fill the dishwasher, eat breakfast and have “mommy time”. Other than that, if I let Wiley help, laundry can be done any time. Cleaning the bathrooms on the other hand – has to be done when he is sleeping..

  11. Tayla March 3, 2011 at 9:03 am

    Thank you all so much for your answers!!

  12. bean bag chairs March 19, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    Took me awhile to read all the comments, but I really enjoyed the article. It proved to be very useful to me and I am sure to all the commenters here! It’s always nice when you can not only be informed, but also engaged! I’m sure you had fun writing this article

Leave a Reply

