My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

fantasy life


“There are times when I thought about, on my worst day, just you know, leaving our house, and going some place like checking into a hotel and just being in a quiet room by myself, just sitting in a quiet air-conditioned room, sitting down, just eating lunch, with no one touching me, drinking a diet Sprite, by myself.”-Date Night

I don’t really like Sprite, let alone anything diet…but I’m pretty sure you get the idea.  I sent out  my S.O.S to Josh earlier this week.  It went a little something like this “Astaire and I need a day apart very soon, or else I may end up losing my mind”.  Don’t worry though, the feeling is definitely mutual.  She is devastated when Josh leaves the house, and if he is here she won’t let me near her.  The rest of the day she spends whining for no apparent reason, and if she gets hurt or disciplined then she cries out for “daddy”.

I know this is just a phase, but it still hurts my feelings and I will definitely be taking a break from the madness very soon.

So this is me raising my “diet sprite” to all you moms and dads whose kids may hurt your feelings on accident, or who can’t yet tell you how great of a job you are doing…even though you are!

And here’s to sweet sleeping babies who love to be snuggled and held… and can’t say no when you reach out to hold them.

2 responses to “fantasy life

  1. Beccah March 3, 2011 at 10:00 am

    Hang in there sweet girl. It is natural to need a break and even more natural to feel as though you are not doing a good job. You will feel like that MANY times in your parenting times. Always remember, Papa is proud of you and that is all that matters. Your motherhood is your ministry and as you do the daily monotonous tasks, you are worshiping Him. He loves that!!! I would love to help you get a mommy break whenever you need. Speak up my friend! Hey, I would even love to enjoy your mommy time away with you!! Smile, your Daddy is pleased with His daughter.

  2. Kendra March 3, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    Tayla, I feel you on so many levels. Kooper is my sidekick all day, and then the minute Adam walks in the door, I am old news. If I so much as ask Adam how his day was Kooper replies “NO talking to my daddy.” I know it makes Adam feel special, but it truly hurts my feelings sometimes. Some days we all need a day away from each other 🙂 Its healthy, I hope you get your day, and enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

