My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

how does she?


How does she…….?

Let’s be honest.  As wives, mothers, and women in general we are constantly comparing ourselves to others.  It’s something that unfortunately, we either were born with, or we picked up from our own mothers, grandmothers, sisters, or best friend’s second cousin twice removed somewhere along the way.   Who knows.  The fact is, that it remains.   The constant need to not only compare ourselves, but also the need to be accepted so much so that we put on a show for everyone else that says we have it all together all of the time.

In the meantime we sit at home in our laundry rooms, folding away (or not) feeling inadequate because we can’t keep up with what we think other women are totally excelling at.  So how does she do it? How does she……..(cook a full course meal every night, keep her kids organized, run this group, volunteer, work a full time job, always pay her bills on time, keep her house spotless, have hobbies and a social life, spend family time etc. etc. etc.) all the while looking beautiful and flirting with her man on a regular basis?

Well Ladies– she doesn’t.

I know it’s hard to believe.  In fact, even as I’m typing this I’m thinking, “yea but what about so and so.” STOP. THAT. RIGHT. NOW!

No one person can do all of these things all of the time.  We are not perfect.  We are awesome, but we are not superhuman.  If you allow yourself to continue to get caught up in this cycle of comparison and not recognize that every single one of us has amazing strengths, but that we also have some weaknesses…. you will allow a place for torment to take a hold of your mind and you will begin to tailspin out of control.

I encourage you today to stop comparing and just embrace yourself for who you are.  But most of all– ask for help!  Embrace your strengths by listing them out and sharing them with others.  And strengthen your weaknesses by making them known and asking someone who is better than you to help you practice them!

and when you need a little motivation…take a look into my mornings and know you are not alone 😉

(1)random daddy shoe (2) 2 baby shoes (3) princess cup (4)ottoman turned upside down with a hole poked in the bottom to hide things (5)another sippy cup and empty snack bowl (6)snack bowl and various toys stuffed between couch and coffee table

(1)dishes being packed for brunch I'm hosting on saturday (2) sink full of clean & dirty dishes due to NO dishwasher (3)pots and pans from breakfast (4) Nasal Aspirator and Febreeze on my coffee nook ??? (5)Blender, Chopper, and Mixer from Astaire's morning play time/ drag everything I can reach out of the cabinets (6) yet another sippy cup (7) random piece of cardboard "someone" pulled out of the recycling bin

4 responses to “how does she?

  1. Heather April 5, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    I just wanna say that my favorite is the ottoman with the hole poked in the bottom to hide stuff in. 🙂 And say that you are SO right. I often feel like I’m not measuring up to what other women with 3 kids under 8 accomplish in a day. Then I quit worrying about that because I have 3 kids under 8….. 🙂 ❤ your blog.

  2. Tayla April 5, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    Thanks Heather! I think I just realized that my favorite part of this is something I failed to even number which was that my living room rug is WAY too small for the area and the fact that I have ZERO curtains in the entire living/dining/kitchen area….epic designer fail.

  3. jeanna April 11, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    So needed this today, Tayla! Thanks for posting!
    Mind if I print this to share at moms group this week?

Leave a Reply

