My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

my two moms in a surprise cookoff- you decide


When it comes to Pepperoni Rolls, people fall into one of 3 categories.

1)You have no idea what it is.

2)You know exactly what it is, who makes the best one, whether it is your mom, Colasessano’s or The Country Club Bakery where it all began.

or

3) You no longer live in WV and you will take any one you can get your hands on any day of the week- stale, moldy, borrowed or stolen. We love us some pepperoni rolls!

Please note that pepperoni rolls, like the state that they originate from are not to be confused with anything else other than what they are.  What I mean is- West Virginia is not in fact “Western Virginia” and a Pepperoni Roll is not in fact a “Pizza Roll” – those are made by Totinos, and while they are too, fabulous….they do not compare.

And now for some fun.  Josh and I always enjoy a heaping amount of our favorite rolls when we go home.  We request some from my mom, step-mom, and we usually buy some at a gas station or local bakery on the way as well. You just can never have enough.  I thought I would share this delicious treat with all of you who find yourself in category #1 or perhaps #3 today and are without a recipe!  I give you my mom and step-mom’s recipes.  Both are different.  Both are delicious.  It will be up to you to decide which is best!

I encourage you all to add some mozzarella, hot pepper cheese, or my personal favorite- slice it open and grill it with some butter -add nacho cheese and close it up again. YUM-O!

Whatever you do….enjoy!!

My Mom Brenda’s Recipe

My Step-Mom Kathy’s Recipe

One response to “my two moms in a surprise cookoff- you decide

  1. Brenda April 29, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    What are you trying to do, cause a family feud? Mine are better of course. haha

Leave a Reply

