My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

team thomforde style


Our recent nomination for Top 25 Style Blogs from Circle of Moms has really got me thinking- my wardrobe needs a major overhaul.  The only fashionista living in this house is my little lady, but she works it enough for the both of us.

stylecollage

Though trends may come and go, the one thing that never goes out of style is being a good parent.

One thing I am so thankful for is my husband Josh.   He is cool and comfortable enough with himself that in our home there are no gender roles when it comes to parenting, or getting things done.  This allows us both much more quality time with each other and with our daughter, and is teaching her several important lessons.

1) Daddy doesn’t put anything else before Mama and Astaire. We are number #1

2) There is no “woman’s place” or “man’s place”.  She can do anything in the world.

3) Teamwork, Teamwork, Teamwork!

One of our more low key days might go something like this:

Astaire the Alarm wakes us at 6:45, and Daddy gets up with her to have Daddy/Daughter time eating breakfast and watching Toons while Mama gets a few extra minutes of sleep.

Around 730 I get up so Josh can shower, he leaves at 815 to work from 9-6.  During those hours, Astaire and I clean the bathrooms, do laundry, dishes and vacuum/mop the floors.  We also play outside, eat lunch, (she) takes a nap, she has lots of snacks  and we probably watch another cartoon or two.

When Josh gets home, I’m in the middle of making dinner, cause I like it to be hot when we eat, so he takes Astaire to get a diaper change, and they fold and put away the rest of the laundry.  We eat dinner, and then head back outside. Josh mows the back yard while I play with Astaire in the front yard.  By then, she is wanting daddy again, so we switch, and they clean out the cars together while I mow the front yard.  When we finish, we all play in the yard together.

After about 30 minutes it’s time for Astaire’s bedtime snack and bath.  We go inside get a snack, Josh takes Astaire and does the bath, while I clean up the kitchen from dinner.  When they finish, we both read her bedtime stories, say her prayers and tuck her in “nigh nigh”.

Then it’s finally time to sit down and relax.

I know this isn’t conventional, I know some Judgy Judgingtons will probably think I make him do too much.  That it’s my job to take care of the home, kids, cooking and cleaning.   Well I welcome your comments- because the truth is, it’s much more important that he do these things and have a relationship with his daughter than it is he have a relationship with our couch and flat screen.  I don’t make him do any of this.  He wants to, he loves to, we both do.  It’s our team–Team Thomforde.

**Please take a moment to stop by Circle of Moms and vote for our blog by clicking the link below!- You can vote once a day, every day until May 9th. Thank you for your support!**

5 responses to “team thomforde style

  1. Lauren April 29, 2011 at 10:48 am

    #1- I especially love the Star’s style in that first pic
    #2- Actually, while it may not be your “job” to do the cooking, cleaning, etc, you do it! lol I don’t think it’s that you two are very unconventional when it comes to gender roles, it is just that when it comes down to it, you help each other out. You’re not afraid to dirty your hands and Josh is not opposed to diaper changing. But at the end of the day, Dad is the provider and Mom the nurturer [not to say Dad doesn’t love on the Star ;), but you get what I’m saying]. The parenting model you seem to give is simply this: be a team!
    So as always, love your blog, love you guys 🙂

  2. Amanda April 30, 2011 at 8:10 am

    As cheesy as it sounds, on more than one occasion, Josh and I have shared a high five while saying “Go team Danko.” My parents set a good example for me. Most of my memories include my mother working outside the home, and dad having his office at home for sermon preparation. Being at home meant he did the cleaning and cooking. Josh works a separate shift so in the limited time he is awake at home, he helps out. I can’t figure out how you get that much done in a day though. Help! I’m lucky to conquer 1 or 2 rooms a day.

    • Tayla April 30, 2011 at 9:24 pm

      Amanda, I don’t always conquer all of that in one day, and to be honest, sometimes I do, and I turn around to find it all “undone”– Life with a toddler is crazy. I do have to do the floors at least 2-3 times a week though, I try to keep up with the laudry, kitchen and general pickup gets done daily and the bathrooms and beds stripped once a week.

      You just have to find a rhythm that works for you…and your family.

  3. Kendra April 30, 2011 at 10:23 am

    I think you guys handle team work great! Adam helps me out a lot when he is home and especially with Kooper, he LOVES his time with Kooper. Hes gone before Kooper wakes up, so I get to sleep in on Saturdays before we have family “date days”…I’m pretty sure if they could get rid of me sometimes they would! We are so lucky and so blessed to have men that like being hands on with their children. Besides, they are so cute I don’t know how you could possibly not want to help out with them! ❤

Leave a Reply

