My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

life in the slow lane


Today it finally hit me why I am chronically late, three steps behind and always wishing there were atleast 10 more hours in a day– I have a toddler.

I do not consider myself to be a stupid person, but for some reason I have a hard time getting the concept that it now takes at least twice the amount of time I would normally take for said task, to actually complete it. That is not allotting time for potential meltdowns or tantrums, which as we all know, could last anywhere from 2 seconds – 20 minutes on a bad day.

Recently I made the mistake choice to let Astaire help me with some chores around the house.  Now even my daily routine of cleanup has come to a screeching hault, as she has to be involved in everything I do.  It’s cute, and I love her willingness to help, I pray it continues into her teenage years (yea right who am I kidding??).  And it gives me daily laughs.

Today, when we finished our snack while watching cartoons- she promptly took my bowl & hers to the trash can and threw them away! I had to then explain to her that they went into the kitchen on the counter…but yet again she surprised me by pulling open the dishwasher!  I said “Do you want to put them in the dishwasher” and she said “YESH!” So I pulled out the drawers and she threw them (literally) in on top of the other dishes.

She also has a special stool that she uses to stand on to help me prep dinner, throw the laundry into the washer (one piece at a time), and anything else she can’t do from her level.  Here are a few photos of her helping around the house.

I have noticed that when she is involved and helping, it definitely makes our day go much smoother and she is much happier!

How do you keep your little ones involved, and what kind of age appropriate tasks do you give them to do?

5 responses to “life in the slow lane

  1. Jeanna May 20, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    My girls help do everything around the house. They are 10 and 7, but like you, I started them really young. Now they realize that chores get out of the way much quicker if we all pitch in and help opposed to Mom doing everything. They fold/ hang their own laundry, clean their bathroom… (I spray chemicals) feed the dogs and cats, and sweep. I keep a running board on the fridge, each day when they do each chore, they get a check mark. If the chore has a check all the way across for the week, they get a dollar per chore… So they each have opportunity to earn 5 dollars a week. They do really good with this system.

  2. Carol Henry May 20, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Tayla, you are a great Mom. Keep it up girl. You can never start training them too young. Make it fun as you do. You are a great teacher and I’m proud of you.

  3. Megan Brown May 20, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    Kole is 7 and I have the HARDEST time getting him to help clean up. His favorite thing to to when cleaning his room is throw it all in the closet and close the door…..found that a few days later unfortunately=). By starting them young as someone else mentioned, you are starting them out on the right foot as far as cleanliness goes in my opinion. I like Jenna’s idea!! I may have to try that one…..

  4. angelsofbabysleep May 21, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    Sure sounds like fun having a “helper” like your toddler! My little guy is only a year old, but I’ve tried to include him when I’m tidying up the house. We sing the clean-up song and that’s his cue to start picking his toys up. It’s really cute, except after he puts his toys away in the box, he pulls them all out again. Well, it’s the thought that counts, right? Still, it’s important to include them. For one, I think it gives them a sense of control, in a world that’s mostly out of reach for them.

  5. Kathy Hockenberry May 22, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    If you had a garden she could help you pick potato bugs…lol!

Leave a Reply

