My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

father of the year


Our church has sponsored a “Father of the Year Nomination” and will choose a letter at today’s service.  Mom’s could write letters for their children if they were too young, and so I decided to write one for Astaire, because I feel like Josh totally deserves this recognition if anyone does.  There was so much more I could write, (like all of the work he does AT the church…but everyone there knows that…) so I thought this would be sufficient.  He is amazing…

Dear Reader,

I am not old enough to write yet, I can only color really great pictures.  In fact, I can only say a few words.  My favorite word is Daddy.  When I wake up in the morning, the first thing I yell over the monitor is “Daddy! Up!”  He is my favorite person in the world, even though I spend all day every day with my mama.

If anyone deserves to win the father of the year award it is my daddy.  Even before I was born he loved me.  I know because I could hear him singing to me and praying for me every night as I was growing inside my mama’s belly.  He was the first person I saw when I was born and he gave me my very first bath and changed all my diapers while I was in the hospital.

My daddy is a really hard worker.  He has three jobs!  He works so much so that my mama can stay home and take care of me, and I like that a lot.  My mama says he works more than 80 hours a week, but I can’t count that high.  I just know that he always has time to play hide and seek with me, and he is almost always here to read my bedtime stories, say my prayers and tuck me in at night.

My daddy is the best daddy in the whole world, and I love him so much!

xOxo Astaire

2 responses to “father of the year

  1. grandma June 19, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Tayla you are such a thoughtful person. Wouldn’t it be a wonderful world if everyone was like that? Astaire is such a fortunate child to have two parents like you and Josh. I love you all and wish I could see more of you. I start treatment again tomorrow. I am a little anxious about this one. It is different from the others I took.

    Love you, Grandma

  2. Kathy Hockenberry June 20, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    OK….that made me cry! I agree, Josh is a wonderful daddy to Astaire. I totally admire him working such long hours so that you can be a dedicated stay at home mommy for Astaire…Josh kinda reminds me of your dad. I don’t know what I would do if your dad wasn’t a hard working coal-miner, who enables me to stay home and care for my father. Josh definitely goes above and beyond to fulfill your family needs & be a wonderful daddy to Astaire. You both are wonderful parents! So… I agree, I think Josh should get the “Father of the Year” award!

Leave a Reply

