My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

Sew much fun…


I have been having SEW much fun lately (ha ha…)

I don’t know if it’s the thought of a new little one that has me feeling so crafty, or the fact that we still can’t play outside every day– but I’ve been up to some fun stuff!

I’ve decided to give cloth diapering another chance this go ’round, and so I’ve been making cloth wipes to go along with it.  I haven’t really perfected the technique, but they are going to be used to wipe a dirty bottom.  They don’t have to be perfect.  I have started using them on Astaire and they are great!   The cloths stay dry until time for a change, and then I spritz on some California Baby Diaper Wash and wipe away.

 

I have also started rounding up all my scrap material (and Josh’s old clothes) to make these cute little crazy critters.  I saw these made on a trip to Asheville and they were just too irresistible not to try them myself.  The ones I saw were made like pillows, but I decided to stuff the one below with dried black beans (you can also use popcorn or rice) so that I could throw it in the microwave and make it warm and Astaire could take it to bed with her.   She had something similar when she was a baby and she loved it!  I’m also thinking a little lavender essential oil inside would make it nice and comforting.

Let me know what you think!

One response to “Sew much fun…

  1. Cheryl F February 9, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    Tayla,

    I LOVE this idea!! You are such a crafty mama. I hope someday to pick your brain about all these ideas that you do for your kids. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

