My Journey Home

My Life. Beautiful, Ugly, Unfiltered.

producing well rounded children


As parents, I believe it is our responsibility to create in our children a sense of curiosity and to immerse them in all facets of culture (even ones we don’t “prefer”) in order to produce well rounded, adjusted teenagers and adults.

Your children are going to be the adults of tomorrow, and it is up to you to educate them!

It seems to me that many parents have lost touch with a very important role that they play.  Many parents are  so busy that they have neglected not only helping to develop their children’s spiritual beliefs, but also enabling them to carry on a decent conversation because of their lack of knowledge on subjects.

When I was a teenager, I remember being drug taken to many different concerts, sporting events, and basically any kind of cultural experience my parents could get their hands on.  Many weekends  friends of my parents would come over and cook authentic Mexican food, while teaching me how to merengue! I spent a full summer one year traveling the Eastern United States with my grandparents in their motor home, stopping at every Bluegrass Festival along the way to jam with their many friends.  My brother is a very talented athlete and therefore I spent countless hours at the gym watching him play basketball, and also race motocross.

Our society is so plugged in to Facebook, TV, and our cell phones that we don’t have time for actual experiences any more.  When was the last time you turned all of these things off and actually immersed yourself in the present moment?  Actually enjoyed a day with your family without checking your email, text messages or voicemail?  By not being able to do this, we are becoming, and also producing children and teenagers that are socially retarded.  They would rather text you than talk to you.  If they do talk to you, they have trouble keeping eye contact and speaking without mumbling or using slang,  because they feel insecure and vulnerable when not hiding behind a screen.

We have to wake up… we have to educate….If we don’t teach our children while they are in our homes, someone else will when they leave your home and go off to college, or a job.  I for one would much rather have my child know have a knowledge of many different subjects, and be firm in knowing what she believes when she is faced with the real world and it’s views.

Don’t you agree?

One response to “producing well rounded children

  1. cheryl falank June 30, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    I agree totally! I at times wonder (when i have children) if i will expose them to so much technology. I agree with exposure but most children these days do not read anymore or excerise the mind beyond the tv or computer. I am concerned for the next generation. I still like to read books that i can flip the pages myself. You see my point though 🙂

    This was a great atricle Tayla!

Leave a comment